Home IHA Elects Three Housewares Executives to Board of Directors
September 19, 2022

IHA Elects Three Housewares Executives to Board of Directors


The International Housewares Association has elected three new directors to the board of directors who will serve three-year terms from October 1, 2022 to September 30, 2025. IHA also elected three board officers who will serve one-year terms from October 1, 2022 to September 30, 2023.

The three new directors are Scott Felsenthal, CEO, Whitmor, Inc. (pictured top left); Sal Gabbay, CEO, Gibson Homewares (top middle); and Michael Hayes, chief customer officer, Newell Brands (top right).

New board officers elected are Steve Greenspon, CEO, Honey-Can-Do International LLC, as IHA chairman; Neal Asbury, president and CEO, The Legacy Companies, as IHA vice chairman/chairman-elect; Paul Cosaro, CEO, Picnic Time Family of Brands, as  IHA treasurer.

Retiring from the board are William Endres, president, Select Brands; Melissa Kieling, CEO, PackIt, LLC; and Kristine Malkoski, business unit CEO, food, Newell Brands. Reappointed for a second three-year term were Paul Cosaro and Kavita Shukla, CEO, The Freshglow Co.

Felsenthal joined Whitmor in August 2009 as the first member of the fourth generation of his family to enter the business which manufactures and distributes home organization, storage and laundry accessory products.

Gabbay is the third-generation owner of Gibson Homewares and spent 43 years growing the company which has a portfolio of brands including Martha Stewart, Sur La Table, Spice by Tia Mowry, Babish, Kenmore, Crockpot, Mr. Coffee and Oster as well as house brands like Gibson Home, Gibson Elite, Laurie Gates and Soho Lounge.

Hayes joined Newell Brands in April 2020 and is responsible for global customer relationships and customer liaison with the executive leadership team.

Greenspon founded Honey-Can-Do in 2008, a home storage, organization, laundry care and general housewares products company. Greenspon has been active on IHA committees since 2010 and is currently a member of the Executive Committee and the board liaison to the Global Retail Advisory Counsel.

Asbury is president and CEO of The Legacy Companies which manufacture and market brands such as Avanti, Brama, Chef’s Choice, Excalibur, MaxxIce, Omega, Sapphire, VinoTemp, Vinturi, West Bend, Yonanas and Zeroll. He is the host of the Radio America talk show “Neal Asbury’s Made in America” and his latest book, “Mapping America,” was recently released and recognized by The New York Times as one of the best visual books of 2021.

Cosaro joined Picnic Time in 2011 and says his number one responsibility is to “relentlessly strive to achieve our mission of giving people the opportunity to make lasting memories by spending time with loved ones.” Picnic Time offers an array of picnic, outdoor leisure, indoor entertaining and barware concepts under the brands Oniva, Legacy, Toscana and Picnic Time.

Also serving on the IHA board are Kim Cole, CEO, Gleener, Inc.; Glenn DeStefano, president, StoreBound; Lisa Knierim, chief development officer, Creative Tops Inc.; Yvette Laugier, managing director, Peugeot Saveurs North America, LLC and immediate past chairman; Jacob Maurer, CEO, Americas, The Cookware Company; Tom McMahon, president, Jura Inc.; Robert Michelson, president and CCO, Bradshaw Home; Keith Mirchandani, principal & CEO, Tristar Products, Inc.; Thomas Nichols, president, Pretika Corporation; Michael Otterman, president and CEO, Lodge Cast Iron; Luke Peter, president and CEO, NewAir LLC; and Dan Siegel, president, Lifetime Brands.

Serving on the executive committee of the board are Neal Asbury, Paul Cosaro, Steve Greenspon, Yvette Laugier, Tom McMahon and Mike Otterman.

Share Now!

Related Posts: